1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

? on sight picture - patterning of gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Harty, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Harty

Harty TS Member

Ok... I am new to trap and have only shot several rounds so far but I am really enjoying it and look forward to participating more in the coming year. After reading the threads about patterning your shotgun I decided to give it a try yesterday. I was surprised to find that at 13 yards the pattern shot left about three inches. I am shooting a trap gun with an adjustable stock so I adjusted the stock to where the gun was shooting centered and high. However, what I am concerned about is that I do have a mid bead on the rib and now my sight picture the beads are not lined up at all. the mid bead is to the left and thus not giving me a figure 8.... Should I have adjusted something else other than the cheek piece... i.e. adjusted with shims to change the whole position the butt stock? I assume this is not right..... What should I have adjusted.. FWIW I am shooting a 391 Teknys gold Target...

Previously when I shot, I was breaking clays but certainly not dusting them... I averaged 22 to 23 out of 25 but it always seemed I was barely breaking the targets...

Your input would be greatly appreciated....

BTW.... I have really enjoyed the forum...

2. mixer

mixer Well-Known Member

It could be that you're rolling your face over the top of the comb to the right (assuming you're a righty) causing you to see the center bead more to the left. What's strange is that you say that your pattern is now centered after adjustments. I would suggest you try to move your cheek a little to the left so you can line up the beads and work from there.

Eric

3. mixer