1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

? on reloading

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Outlaw249, Mar 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Outlaw249

Outlaw249 TS Member

Sep 10, 2009
    I have a mec sizemaster set up for 1 1/8 oz lead loads and was wondering why can't just replace the lead with steel it would still be a 1 1/8 oz load.I guess what i'm trying to say is why can't I just load steelshot just like I load my trap loads without changing anything but the lead to steel.
  2. hrosik123

hrosik123 Member

Apr 12, 2009
    Steel and lead have different densities. Therefore #8 steel does not weigh the same as #8 lead
  3. Kalina

Kalina TS Member

May 27, 2009
    Steal isn't as dense as lead so your charge weight will be off and lead shot wads will not hold up to the harder steel shot which could cause your barrel to get scoured. The type of powder that you use may not be effective for steel loads as they usually use a slow burning powder. You can load bismuth and lead with nearly the same loads, but it would be best to check the load data first.
  4. Jack Frost

Jack Frost TS Member

Feb 16, 2009
    the number of pellets varies greatly from steel to lead. 7/8oz lead load will drop something like 1-1/8oz of steel, so if your bar is set to drop 1.125oz (1-1/8oz.) of lead, it will drop something like 1.625oz (1-5/8oz) of steel. You really should read one of the reloading books to understand the vast differences between lead and steel loading. A book I have not currently in from of me, of course is by Kurt D. Fackler and he goes in to much detail on this very topic.

Hope this helps.

5. Ljutic111

Ljutic111 TS Member

Jan 20, 2008