1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Old Colt Revolver Value

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Old Cowboy, May 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

Any Colt Single Action collectors here?

Colt Single Action "Frontier Six Shooter" stamped on the left side of the barrel, chambered .44-40, 7 1/2" bbl, one screw at an angle from the front to retain the cyl base pin, large round knob on the ejector rod, serial # 73*** (yeah, five didgets no prefix), I'm no expert but a little research suggests it was made in 1881 or 1882. I'd say VERY GOOD condition (slight bolt drag marks on the cylinder). Assuming original finish and all matching ser #'s.........what's it worth?

On the bottem front of the frame just ahead of the grip frame along with the ser # are what appears to be proofmarks.....what are they and is that normal?

Saw the pistol today in the used case of my local sporting goods store, for sale on consignment.

2. ebsurveyor

ebsurveyor Member

It's a fake.

what is the address of the gun shop?

3. TOOLMAKER 251

TOOLMAKER 251 Active Member

At #52,000 Colt changed from round head ejector to oval, also serial numbers were also stamped on the cylinder in this number range.

4. Rebel Sympathy

Rebel Sympathy Well-Known Member

What percent original finish?

What grips are on the gun? Wood? Rubber Eagle?

5. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

90% plus finish, wood stocks (one piece as I recall)

6. SPORTALLURING

SPORTALLURING Active Member

What did the gun shop have it priced at?

Sportalluring

7. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

$1250, which seemed a little low to me considering it's condition and apparent age but I don't think he realized how old it was.

8. TOOLMAKER 251