1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Oil burner chimney needs a liner

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by DENNISMASTROLIA1, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. DENNISMASTROLIA1

    DENNISMASTROLIA1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    896
    This is posted in the off topic section for those that are employed on "The View" and have "opinions" as to postings.
    I am looking for some info on installing a chimney liner into an old chimney which currently has no liner. Are there any recommendations as to where to purchase the products? I know that I can do this myself with a couple of friends. Just looking for some input from anyone who has done this before.Roofs and heights as well as ladders are not an issue at all.
    Thanks---Dennis.
     
  2. Catpower

    Catpower Molon Labe TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,249
    Location:
    In the Cabana
    Generally you don't have to line a chimney that has and will continue to be used with oil, just when you switch from oil to gas, the moisture in the gas vent will mix with the soot and it will make sulfuric acid and it will eat away at the masonry joints

    It has been a while since I have dealt with doing that, but I doubt it has changed much, I have seen they now have a flexible system that they use, all you need to do is cut to length and terminate. If at all possible it is a good idea to have a drain on the bottom of the tee you hook into to drain and condensate or rain that could get in there
     
  3. copper

    copper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Chimney liner Depot on LINE 6' X 20 FEET 375.00 I never bought but looked into it , think they were cheapest Stainless steel flex just type in go to there site
     
  4. DENNISMASTROLIA1

    DENNISMASTROLIA1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    896
    Thank you---Dennis
     
  5. ImpalaBob

    ImpalaBob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Which is better .... Rigid or flex?
     
  6. Catpower

    Catpower Molon Labe TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,249
    Location:
    In the Cabana
    It would be about the same, I would guess the flex could be much easier, in the past I have run into chimneys that had ab offset in them and the flex would have been nice there
     
  7. Auctioneer

    Auctioneer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,965
    When the chimney guy came to line my basement chimney for a woodstove it was all flex SS pipe. One reason was because of the bend in the chimney. He also lined the pipe with insulation. Over the insulation he put wire mesh to hold the insulation in place while the pipe was being put in place.

    Just to say you might want to let a pro do it because of insurance. If you did it and something goes wrong then you will be in trouble with the insurance. If a pro did it then he is the one who has to pay if anything goes wrong. Just a thought.