1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T Portable Generator

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Paladin, Dec 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paladin

Paladin Well-Known Member

I've purchased a Coleman Powermate 6750/8500watt portable generator for emergency home use and also for loading into the pick up for use out and about.

I'm no licensed electrician, but I would like to know about the work needed to be performed in the home to make it a flip the switch and plug in procedure. The manual gave no input. Thanks.

2. Charles L. Schmidt

Charles L. Schmidt TS Member

There are better and safer ways of backing power into your house with a generator. But one simple way is to make yourself an extension cord with male ends at both ends. Plug one end into your generator and the other into a plug in your house. Be sure to pull the main breaker in your circuit breaker box before doing so so you're not supplying power out where a lineman could be electrocuted.

The best way would be to hire an electrician to build you a box and provide a cord just for the purpose. cls

3. X Trap 2

X Trap 2 TS Member

Since I have gas heat I took the blower power wire off and then ran it to an outlet box I installed in the bottom of the heater closet. I then made a cord from the blower and put a female end on it and plugged it into the outlet I just made. Blower will now run again.

All is now connected just like it was but instead of the power wire just going straight to the blower it now goes to the outlet box and then from the outlet box to the blower VIA short cord.

If the power goes off I just unplug the blower from the outlet and plug it into as extension cord that goes to the generator. I just use Long extension cords for lamps and the TV.