1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T No Country For Old Men

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by 686beretta, Apr 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 686beretta

686beretta TS Member

I rented this last night and I liked it, it had action, comedy and a very good plot. However, if anyone else out there has seen this movie what did you think of the "silencer" on the shotgun?

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Its Hollywood. The suppressor was too small to be for real and not many buckshot loads are subsonic anyway. The stun gun was more realistic although completely bizzare in actual crime use.

3. handlepuller

handlepuller Well-Known Member

The silencer was cool.

I'm not an expert so I have no idea if it would be doable or not, but it was cool.

The movie was cool too, but I don't see how it won "Best Picture."

4. smsnyder

smsnyder Well-Known Member

Silencers/Suppressors are not like you see in the movies.They are not totally silent.

5. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Can't stop a sonic boom. All most silencers do is act like a car muffler and reduce the sound of the explosion.

If you had electronics to reproduce the exact same sound, only 180 degrees out of phase, and had it in the end of your barrel, that would be a perfect silencer. The 2 sounds would cancel each other out.

HM

6. HOT-HAMMER

HOT-HAMMER TS Member

HM, What??...How come when I was 10 and pulled both trigers on the old side by side at the same time it still went boom...Rick

7. mixer

mixer Well-Known Member

Strange ending to the film, reminded me of the last episode of The Sopranos.

Eric

8. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

disappointing ending, very unique though.