1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T need a diesel expert on tractors - Ford

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Ohio Bob, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohio Bob

Ohio Bob Member

OK guys.

I have a early Ford 2110 tractor, diesel, that is hard to start. Even when it is in the mid to upper 50’s you have to crank on it for a little bit.

When you try to start it up, it starts puffing white smoke right away but that’s all. After several times trying to start if you crank long enough it will start to puff black and the slowly start to catch and then finally start.

Where do I start to fix this problem? I’m new to diesels. Since this is a tractor its more open to fix and it’s starting to get cold.

Thanks, OB

2. JB Logan Co. Ohio

JB Logan Co. Ohio TS Member

Don't take offense to this question, but are you letting the glow plug heat up long enough? Even cycling it two or three times?

JB=Jerry Beach 8503917

3. Elk guide

Elk guide TS Member

IF it is an older ford #1 Check to see if the glow plug is working then use the glow plug but give it time to warm, sometimes you will hear a puff. I will turn it over once or twice before glow pluging it but don't keep cranking it.