1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T Mig Welding

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by wayneo, Sep 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

Just passed my AWS 3G and 4G with 3/8" plate 7018 . I'm having a hard time with vertical up MIG. I have been welding stick for twenty years, but never MIG. Test is 3/8" steel plate, 1/4 root gap, 22.5 degree bevel. Machine is Miller 450, 0.035 wire, 95 argon, 5 02. I've got it set for 18 volts, 264 IPM. Any tips??? Just having a hard time, seems like vertical up with 7018 is a lot easier than MIG. Thanks for any info.

Wayne

2. trapshooterjoe7

trapshooterjoe7 Member

What wire are you using, if its not an all position wire like "71 m " you are not going to weld a vertical. Do you have book on welding? With the right wire and setup , mig is so much easier then stick. Joe

3. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

Thanks, Joe. I believe the wire I'm using is; Solid Carbon Steel ES-70-6

Wayne

4. kie95

kie95 Member

Try running it down hand it runs so much smoother. Mig vertical up is not very fun to weld, all it does is grape and run like it's to hot. You can set up to run uphill with a spray style machine but real hard to do with a standard wire feed system.

5. blkcloud

blkcloud Active Member

Stacking dimes.. that is what we call it.. when I do vertical up on my miller mig I weld left to right, stop, let cool for a second, then weld right to left.. stop, let cool for a second.. and do it all the way up.. it will look like you have a stack of real pretty dimes there for your weld.. works every time.. good luck!

6. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land