1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T - How did you quit tobacco products?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by WoodsonEnt, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WoodsonEnt

WoodsonEnt Active Member

Well, I need some help here. I am doing my best to quit snuff. I have the want to, but it has been difficult. What have worked for ya'll to aid in quitting?

Matt

2. GW22

GW22 Active Member

Matt:

That's a tough one. I'm no expert but I'll offer a few thoughts for you to consider.

My old family doctor used to say "Cancer cures smoking." I'm sure he'd say the same about snuff. I'm not being a wise guy or anything (I have multiple immediate family members who have had cancer). It's just that once you have a cancer scare, like a tumor, it gets your attention very quickly and the reality of the effects tobacco use clarifies very quickly. My doctor used to say that if people could just see and feel the devastation of what's going to happen to them if they don't stop using tobacco, then 99% of use would stop immediately. He said he wished there was a way for people to have a "It's a Wonderful Life" exerience where they could be diagnosed with cancer, and face death up-close, and then be granted a wish to go back 20 years and have a second chance. He said that if someone invented a way for people to do that, tobacco companies couldn't give their products away.