1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O.T. -- Direct TV -- Volume Problem

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by Rottweil72, Jan 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rottweil72

    Rottweil72 TS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Driving me nuts !!! -- watch a show or program at a volume I can hear -- THEN -- when a commercial comes on -- BLOWS US OUT OF THE ROOM !!!!
    Any device to lower the volume at commercial time ?????

    Bill
     
  2. Delbert

    Delbert TS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    Most remote controls have a mute button.
     
  3. Ahab

    Ahab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,650
    Hahahahaha they do that so you can hear the ads in the kitchen or bathroom when you get up during the commercials!
     
  4. mixer

    mixer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,386
    Location:
    Coral Springs, Florida
    It's not a Direct TV problem or any other providers problem. With out going into the tech details, some commercials are made louder to get your attention. Some new sets have an auto level setting in the menu to prevent just what you're experiencing. Other than that there's not a lot you can do except as Delbert said; "hit the mute button".


    Eric
     
  5. shooterIII

    shooterIII Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    MN (state of socialism)
    A tech friend of mine called it Sound Compression. The add company's use it to get you attention to the commercial.
     
  6. skip

    skip Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    302
    I had the same problem with my service when the commercials came on, the audio was 4 times as loud as the program. Not the usual "A little bit louder" but screaming loud"

    I realize you don't have Comcast, I do, and it turned out to be a setting from a sub menu reached by way of a setup up screen accessed with the remote control unit.

    Call customer service, they will walk you through the setup.
     
  7. cubancigar2000

    cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,521
    Location:
    Idaho
    I have the same issue with Cableone - It is annoying to have to mute it
     
  8. mixer

    mixer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,386
    Location:
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Shooterlll,

    That's exactly right. Some tech stuff, Compression is what is used to make sound louder. When you add that to a peak limiter you can compress the audio to make it sound louder yet it doesn't look that way on level meters.


    Eric
     
  9. kolar12

    kolar12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    AZ
    I have a new Samsung 630 LCD. It has an auto volume feature which does not always work. The guy from Best Buy came out and said that because I have U-Verse, AT&T Fiber TV, it will not work. I asked AT&T and they said it comes from the down link and they can not fix it either. AAH, Technology!
     
  10. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    You will buy.

    You will buy.

    You will buy(louder)

    You must buy!(still louder)

    BUY THIS NOW!!!(very loud)

    click.

    Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh.

    HM
     
  11. mixer

    mixer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,386
    Location:
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Kolar12,

    The guy from Best Buy knows nothing. I also have U-verse and the auto level on my set works fine.

    Eric
     
  12. mixer

    mixer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,386
    Location:
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Creteham,

    A Gates Lev-L-Devil? WOW, It's been almost 50 years since I used one of those.


    Eric
     
  13. bill1949

    bill1949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Try this website. will level TV sound...Bill
     
  14. Harty

    Harty TS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    There are a lot of things that can cause this problem... One thing in particular is if you are listening to surround sound or Dolby digital there is a setting embedded into the audio called Dialnorm... this is a setting that "explains the normal dialog audio level" to put it simply... (this is nothing you can adjust but is set at the time of the production or broadcast depending on how each broadcaster is set up... If the dialnorm settings are wrong the audio levels can be vary drastically... The whole industry is "getting their hands around this issue" and a lot is being done with this especially due to the pending DTV transition.

    If you are listening to the audio from your TV and not from a surround or stereo the problem is compression that the producers of the commercials put in (not the networks) to make them sound louder... The overall level (or electrical portion) of the signal is the same but the compression makes it sound louder... Kind of like an 70's FM Hard rock station....

    One other aspect to consider... Almost all of the cable systems insert their own commercials into each channel.. Generally one time a 30 minute show for 1 to 2 minutes.... If the cable system does not setup their insertion level correctly their audio can be very different from what is coming from the network.... So pay close attention to the commercial, if it is a local spot and not something that would be advertised nationally or a spot for something on your local cable system(pay per view, sports etc) that is really loud, then the insertion level issue is with your cable system......

    I know for a fact that DirecTV, Dish, Uverse and some of the other larger systems are very conscious about this issue and report back to the broadcasters when there are issues..... ( I work for a major broadcasters engineering group and have had these conversations before)

    There certainly should not be Major audio level changes... certinaly not 4X the volume or even 1x the volume... I would recommend you pay close attention to the spots and when they run and report this to the cable systems if they appear to be localize spots and if they are national spots then send an email to the broadcaster...
     
  15. pj 999

    pj 999 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    563
    I just about jumped out of bed the other night I thought Billy Mays and the ShamWow guy was standing beside me and yelling in my ear. LOL!
     
  16. tom-n8ies

    tom-n8ies Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Sham-wow!

    tom
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.