1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T .45 Question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Mike K P, Oct 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike K P

Mike K P Member

I have a nice Kimber stainless .45 full size, I really like the gun but like the feel and size and handling of some of the compacts. I'm new to handguns so what do I sacrifice in moving down to say a 4" or even 3.5" barrel? Accuracy, recoil? Looking for an all around .45 to shoot for fun as well as home defense.
    Any imput would be appreciated. Thanks. Mike.

2. bcnu

bcnu Active Member

All .45's are great fun. The smaller ones will have more recoil and a little less accuracy. However, they carry easier. I have never met a .45 that wasn't fun to shoot. It don't get much better than a Kimber. Shoot what you already have and enjoy it. John

3. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

What you have is fine. If looking to carry a compact may be better for you. I carried a full size S&W .45 for a while. It just gets heavy. Especially on the hip. I switched to a S&W 4013tsw .40. A bit easier to hide. The new S&W MP series hand guns are a lot for the price.

4. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

I pretty much mirror tomk2's thoughts. And, yes, every year of age the full sized gun becomes heavier and heavier. A lightweight Commander is about as small as I'd recommend in the .45 ACP....Bob Dodd

5. hubcap

hubcap TS Member

I have had numerous full size and compact 1911's. My personal carry gun is a Kimber Pro Carry SLE which is the "Commander" sized pistol. In my opinion this is the best of both worlds. It's easier to conceal and lighter than a full sized 1911, but it is much easier to shoot than a compact.