1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

O/T .223 bullet weights

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by BIGbill, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BIGbill

BIGbill TS Member

I have a Bushmaster Varmint special in 223 and I am wondering if anybody has found ammunition that these things love. I have only tried 45 and 55 grain bullets (factory remington) but will try anything if someone has had some good luck. thus far have tried hornady and remington factory ammo, and have not been blown away yet.

I don't have the time to handload for this one, so if you have a secret load conjured up for the Bushie, it won't do me any good. May help somebody else, so feel free to post.

the Bushie is 223 24 inch barrel with 1 in 9 twist. Have been thinking about some heavier bullets, maybe up to 70 or 80 grains.

Appreciate the help.

Bill

2. BIGbill

BIGbill TS Member

I have a Bushmaster Varmint special in 223 and I am wondering if anybody has found ammunition that these things love. I have only tried 45 and 55 grain bullets (factory remington) but will try anything if someone has had some good luck. thus far have tried hornady and remington factory ammo, and have not been blown away yet.

I don't have the time to handload for this one, so if you have a secret load conjured up for the Bushie, it won't do me any good. May help somebody else, so feel free to post.

the Bushie is 223 24 inch barrel with 1 in 9 twist. Have been thinking about some heavier bullets, maybe up to 70 or 80 grains.

Appreciate the help.

Bill

3. Dove Commander

Dove Commander TS Member

Try the Winchester 55 grain silver tips or the Remington 55gr Accutip. The UMC 55 gr shoot good too. Check the thread ".223/5.56 question". Shooting Coach has alot of experience too.