1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

North Carolina Scholastic Clay Target Program

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by CarolinaShooter, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CarolinaShooter

CarolinaShooter TS Member

Dear trapshooters,
    i have been having trouble recruiting kids to shoot for the SCTP in NC. If anyone has any suggestions about how to get more kids to shoot, please let me know. I am a new coach in NC, and need as much help as possible. Recruiting is by far the biggest problem we have in NC. So again, if anyone has any suggestions or would like to help out with recruitment in NC please post a message or email me at tgallowa@email.unc.edu.

CarolinaShooter

2. ffwildcat

ffwildcat TS Member

The best advocates for SCTP are the kids themselves. You need to enlist their help to recruit and evangelize the program to their peers. Overcoming the "fear and paranoia" of parents that don't shoot is a matter of proper education - the National SCTP has some good reading materials to help with this.

Have you hosted a clinic for new shooters??

It costs money, but if our experience (California) is any indication then host a clinic offering loaner guns, cheap targets and a free lunch. The kids can attend and participate without needing to make much of an investment other than their time. Set up the traps to throw straightaways only. Emphasize fun, safety and coaching.......with an emphasis on fun, safety and coaching.

Are you allowed to solicit through the schools?

We're holding our clinic of March 3 at a local club and we've passed out fliers to all the local sports shops - it's always a fun event and usually very well attended.

3. juniorshooter

juniorshooter TS Member