1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

noble primers

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dolphin62, Sep 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dolphin62

dolphin62 Member

I bought a lot of noble primers this summer and really like them. I'm fairly new to reloading and I have a question about these primers. I know these are suppose to be able to exchange with winchester primers( winchester knoc offs).

my question is will these primers be alright in the winter weather..will they be hot enough and give off enough pressure. Or will I have to use real winchester primers in the cold weather.

I know you get what you pay for but these nobles seem to be a great primer....never had one misfire in about 3000 rounds loaded and fired.

2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

They will ( in my experience with them) not shoot well in the winter with perodic soft sounding loads. I have had ( I bought 5000 and have shot 1800) many misfires that go off the second time and many soft sounding loads. Most of this is in cold weather. The other thing you face is they are slightly larger and will render your hulls useless for other primers. Bottom line is and you said it, you get what you pay for.

3. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

I had trouble with them being oversized and they did not perform well in many loads in cold weather. Hodgdon no longer states that they are interchangeable with the Winchester. No idea why, they just deleted that statement for some reason.