1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

No Target rules

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Old Cowboy, Jan 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

As a follow-up to the "rule change" thread that's getting a little long and redundant;

I'm studying thru' section E. NO TARGET in the ATA rulebook. You'll note instances when abnormal targets/target flights occur that are ruled either "no target" or "illegal target". Ponder WHY.........in some of these instances that the target shall be ruled "no target" and another target be thrown regardless of whether or not the shooter fired and regardless of the result of any shot fired. OTOH, in other instances it shall be ruled "no target" and another target be thrown provided the shooter does not fire at it. If the contestant fires, the result must be scored. WHY the difference?

It occurs to me that those instances that provide for "if the contestant fires the result be scored" are cases where the target presented is more difficult than a legal target, where OTOH those instances that require a re-shoot regardless are cases where the target is or at least can be easier to hit that the normal legal target.

John C. Saubak

2. MGeslock

MGeslock TS Member

I hate to bring up the the bad word skeet... but how about this rule....

14. The referee shall be the SOLE judge of decision of fact.
    For example, his/her decision as to whether a target
    is dead or lost shall be irrevocable, regardless of the
    opinion of spectators or other members of the squad.

3. scott calhoun

scott calhoun Well-Known Member