1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Nitro 27 and constriction of pattern

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by doubles100, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doubles100

doubles100 TS Member

I am new to the 22 yard line. I shoot light full and full from the 16. Going to try Nitro 27s from the 22. Will I need open up the choke?

2. mx2005

mx2005 TS Member

Doubles 100 Can I ask a question why do you need to use all that heavy load from any where? You don't need to beat you're self up like that just to shoot a orange target the bigger the better theory is not better. Go to the supply place and take a few minutes pick up 4 or a case of top gun or STS remington LITE 8's for 16 yd and Lite STS 7.5 shot for you're 22 yd line and Take a few rounds to get you're timing and just break the target and most of all save you're shoulder and the pounding of you're body from the pain when you're shooting.

I thought for years that BIGGER was BETTER and learned that it is not even at my league shoots and annie oakley and buddy shoots I use STS LITE 7.5 and I have used 1oz 7.5 shot 1290 fps HC loads for annies and the guys I shoot with can not believe it. Now lt Full is fine what my personnel deal is I practice with my .030 lt full and shoot the scores with my .025 imp MOD but thats me . Hope I shed some help on the subject. Pat.k.

3. jdsfarms

jdsfarms Well-Known Member

If you shoot those nitro's from there very long you will be back on the 20 yard line in no time,I believe there are few shooters who can tolerate that kind of recoil without developing a flinch or a bad habit and most of those are on the 27 yard line and need that kind of load to be competetive from there.I shoot from 24 yds and still use a 1 oz.load.Jerry

4. brewmaster