1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Nitro 100 Powder

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Bob Caryl, May 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Caryl

Bob Caryl Member

Just got an 8 Lb. jug of this powder and was wondering what some of you think of it that have used it. I have never used it before. There is not much reloading info out there for it. Do any of you have a favorite receipe for it that you would care to share. Thanks.
    Bob

2. BeerKing

BeerKing Active Member

STS hull 16.5 grns. TGT12 wad and 1oz. 1230fps and no recoil. I have been loading Nitro for 20+ years and love it for 1 oz. loads but when loading up for 1 1/8 a little to much recoil.

3. Two Dogs

Two Dogs Well-Known Member

I just started loading N 100, and so far I like it.
    For 16yd. I used 17.5 grs. in a W.W. old style hull,Cheddite primer, wt12 wad, 1 1/8 oz. of 8.5 mag. shot.It's a little bumpy but it sure smokes targets,( 24 thou. choke )
    I haven't cronoed it yet, but I'm sure it's around 1235 or so.

4. FLIP

FLIP Member

16.2 tgt wad sts hull fio primer 1oz #8 16yard and doubles.sweet shell

5. pyrdek

pyrdek Well-Known Member

I use 15,2 Gr. Nitro 100 for a 7/8 Oz. 8s or 8.5s when I can find them, load in a STS/Gun Club hull with a Win 209 primer and a Claybuster 4100-12 wad. Velocity is about 1170 FPS. Low recoil, economical and it destroys targets (if I put the shot in the right place :) Just yesterday, when I ran a fifty straight in our League shoot, with this load, the scorer even commented about how hard the targets were being hit.

Only problem is that I have to manually open the Rem 1100 since the load is so light the action may or may open by itself. In a break-open action this is a non-issue.

6. Two Dogs