1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie here....howdy.

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Billster, Jul 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Billster

Billster TS Member

Happy to find this place. Been a long journey over the years to find myself here.

My dad got me started in trap when I was 10 years old....bought me a used 16ga. Mossberg bolt action. Living in NYC relegated us to shooting at the small trap setup at the VFW in the sticks of southern NJ across from my uncle's house when we visited there on weekends. I'd do okay for a little kid. In '62 he bought the 'new' Mossberg 500 pump with interchangeable barrels and then we discovered the Remington Range at Lordship Connecticut. Beautiful place shooting out over Long Island Sound. There I was able to use the soon to be released 1100 - they were lending them out to run rounds thru them for test purposes. Great gun. I'd often use dad's 500 and soon kicked his butt with it. ha! In '67 he bought a new Breda 12 o/u..most beautiful I'd seen up to that date. Engraved with tolerances so tight... The 500 became mine. He had a serious heart attack shortly after that and shooting was curtailed for us. He died in '69 of a second heart attack at 41 yrs. old. I continued trap/skeet until the mid-70's using the 500 solely. Felt like 'home' to me, that old pump. After that, the guns remained in their cases and occassionally cleaned/oiled. The Breda is still in 'showroom' condition.