1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie Help - Which gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by BAD007, Feb 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BAD007

BAD007 TS Member

Hello All!
    First off, I'd like to thank everyone that participates in this forum. I've been reading the posts for a few weeks and the information and advice has been invaluable to me, so for that, thanks!

I'm new to trap and I want to get a gun. I've been looking at a Browning XT, it has a Gracoil with adjustable LOP, and an adjustable comb. I've read about the importance of having the gun fitted to me and it seems the comb and adjustable LOP are a good idea.

I've also found a used Krieghoff K-80 Combo that I really like. The Kreighoff does not have an adjustable comb or butt plate and costs 3 times as much. I'm concerned that if will be difficult to have this gun fitted as a result. I live in Salt Lake City and it seems there aren't many people that can/will fit guns (?).

So, what do you think? Better off with the better gun and the worry about getting it fitted, or the cheaper gun that can be fitted easily?

Any advice will certainly be appreciated?
    Thanks!!

Brent Daugherty

2. MTA Tom

MTA Tom Active Member

Get the gun you like. If needed, an adjustable comb and/or buttplate can be easily installed on the K-80, or you can get a Precision Fit Stock for it.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

It depends on how much money you want to spend now. An adjustable comb can easily be added to the K-80. I would suggest that staying with a less expensive gun makes sense for a new shooter.

Pat Ireland

4. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member