1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie Confusion

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Scottrik, Mar 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scottrik

Scottrik TS Member

I am new to reloading but am trying to learn.

I feel like I am missing something important. Hoping more experienced hands can straighten me out.

I have Lymans 5th ed. Shotshell handbook. one reason I bought it is because of the full scale color cutaways of various hulls.

My confusion revolves around hull descriptions.

I have a boat-load of gray/silver (potato-patato they all look gray to me) Winchester hulls that are clearly marked "AA".
    Most of the recipes I have found for "Win. AA hulls" both in the Lymans book & on-line describe "Win. AA Hulls" as compression formed or "HS" (High Strength)

Since I am occasionally known to be hard-headed & suspicious I took a dremel tool & did my own cutaway.

These clearly marked "Win AA hulls" are obviously NOT compression formed. The Base Wad is clearly a separate component. I assume therefore that a recipe for a "CF" hull would not be suitable and so went looking for recipes for "poly-formed" hulls.

And there in lies the crux of my confusion. I can't find any recipes for "Winchester AA Poly-Formed Hulls"

So what am I missing here???

Scott McCoy
    TANSTAAFL
    (There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch)

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member