1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie 1100 CT barrel question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by smac61, Nov 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smac61

smac61 TS Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to all this so forgive me if I sound stupid. I have experience hunting upland birds and informal "throw your own" clays. Having said that, I am reading there are point of aim / point of impact considerations in a trap gun.

I recently picked up an 1100 Classic Trap with 2 barrels and 6 chokes. Am I correct in assuming that the 30" barrel will shoot high and only pattern correctly with the singles, mid and long tubes? (when I say correctly, I mean as marked on the tube) Can I also assume the with the 26" VR barrel and standard chokes it will shoot POA and pattern like a field model? Also, what is meant when some states thier gun is shooting 60/40?

Bottom line is I wish to use this for hunting, informal clays and perhaps venture into sporting clays and trap.

Again, I'm new to this so bear with me...

Thanks,
    Sean

2. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

I have shot 870's and 1100's for many years. I would would use the trap chokes in the trap barrel and the field chokes in the field barrel. Why do anything different? A pattern board will tell you how they really shoot.

The stock dimension on the classic trap will feature a higher comb height than on a field gun. That said, your eyes will be higher above the barrel with a trap dimension stock than with a field dimension stock. This of itself should make the gun shoot higher.