1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Newb Troubles

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Lucenut, Jan 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lucenut

Lucenut TS Member

Hi, I'm a newbie trap shooter. Our gun club has a trap field, concrete house and a reliable machine. I don't know the rules really, a buddy got the key and permission to do our own "league" on tuesday mornings.

My shooting: 20 years ago I used to duck hunt regularly and that was the extent of my shotgunning. This fall I went duck hunting a week and pheasant hunting a week. Duck hunting I was about 1 out of 10 hits. Pheasant (most shots going away) I was better than 50%.

So I rolled up to the trap league with my Browning BPS pump with modified choke. The first 2 weeks I was one of the best there shooting 14, and 18 my first 2 rounds ever! The next week it dwindled some to 11, and 15. The next week 11 and 12, then the last two weeks I've been in the single digits (7 and 8s)

I love being out shooting stuff on tuesday mornings but if I get any worse I might as well just shoot into the air rather than spending the $9 for pigeons.

I think my initial shooting style was to start with the barrel on the right corner of the house and whip it out in front of the bird and stop/pull the trigger. I read some about slowing everything down yada yada yada and now I just can't hit anything!

I've googled hoping for a simple diagram of what sight pictures should look like, but I think it would be best to have someone look over my shoulder am I right? Anyone in central Florida want to have a look at my shooting? I'll gladly travel to any club from Tampa area to Orlando either coast south to Naples or Miami for some guidance.

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Barrelbulge(Fl)