1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Trap Shooting

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ghostryder65, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ghostryder65

ghostryder65 TS Member

I'm new to trap shooting and have access to a range where I can go and pickup used wads and shells for reloading, anyone have a good load for used wads? if so what would it be?

I'm looking at dropping about 25 grains of Red Dot and a cci 209 primer with a ounce of 7 1/2's think that might be a good load for a beginner?

I also bought one of them K-80's to shoot, what a fine weapon it is.

2. K80433SC

K80433SC Member

Naturally -- this is a facetious post, and should not be taken seriously......

However -- do either of you think it prudent to even be suggesting such lunacy ?

Alliant Powder Company recommends a MAXIMUM charge weight of 20 Grains of Red Dot powder with a CCI primer, and that load produces a p.s.i. of 10,300 - getting toward the "upper end" in that category.

We all like to have fun here, and I would be the last one to lambast another shooter, HOWEVER........think of the true novice who may view this forum and actually put their faith - and ultimately their personal safety, in following the advice of the "experts" who give advice here.

3. ivanhoe

ivanhoe Well-Known Member

K80433SC

"think of the true novice who may view this forum and actually put their faith - and ultimately their personal safety, in following the advice of the "experts" who give advice here."

One more reason that free advice should not be given all reloading questions should be referred to the appropriate reloading website and only book(published) loads should be used no granddaddy's favorite.

Bob Lawless

4. Dahaub

Dahaub Active Member