1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

new to trap shooting

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by hunter2, Dec 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hunter2

hunter2 TS Member

HI, i'm new to the forum and trap. I have a 870 remington wing master.
    Gun was prchased in the 80's, walnut stock,28" vent rib, 2bbls.
    One in fixed sceet, the other, the one i'm thinking of using is
    a fixed full chock. Would thi be a good gun for trap.If so what
    modifacations would i need to do to it.870 is like new condition.
    Steve

2. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

hunter2; Trapshooting is generally shot with a full or Imp. modified chokes. The majority of the mantra you'll get here or at the range is that you'll need a trap gun, one designed to shoot a bit high to assist in taking rising birds from the trap house. However, it's been my observation that a hunter who knows his gun really well can shoot trap quite well with a field gun like yours. An old saw in the game is, "beware of the fellow that shows up with his taped together, beat up old field gun, dressed in bib overalls and with cow patties hanging from his rubber boots cuz while you're laughing at him, he'll outscore you as often as not."

So my point is your Wingmaster is a nearly bullet proof gun, the fixed full choke is just fine, and if you know your gun really well, you can shoot trap recreationally right up until you feel obligated to test drive some trap guns and gear to see if this is in your future. Even then you could make modifications to the ol' Remington and turn it into a 870 Wingmaster trap gun with a trap stock or adjustable comb and maybe a longer barrel...breakemall....Bob Dodd

3. stokinpls

stokinpls Well-Known Member

That's where I started...just look at me now. ;-)