1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Trap... Looking for Gun Suggestions

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by KRDM, Sep 9, 2013.

1. KRDM

KRDM TS Member

Howdy... I'm new to trap/skeet and new to the forums. I'm looking for some advice based on research and knowledge from my father in law (who is an experienced trap/skeet shooter).

The biggest decision I need help with is the gun. Going with the mantra "the more information the better"...

This will be my first trap gun and something I plan to use for fun. If I decide to go into competition I will upgrade/replace it. Therefore, my budget is $900... the more under the better. If I can find a gun in that price range that will take me into competition, even better.

I am 6'2" and ~300lbs so I'm a big guy. I measured LoP by using the crude method of elbow crook to 1st knuckle on trigger finger. That came out to just under 15". I am most interested in trap, but don't want to limit myself by just getting a single shot. I'd like a 30"+ barrel, removable chokes, monte carlo stock (nice to have), and a recoil pad. I have the ability to cut a stock and/or put on an aftermarket pad if needed. I find it fun to clean my guns so a semi-auto does not scare me. I also do not mind the idea of using a pump for skeet. I do plan to reload and am looking for a 366 in good condition (if anyone knows of one).

I am open to used or new. I'm sure it's blasphemy on this forum, but I am also open to getting a lesser quality gun knowing I'm just using it to get used to the sport. If I get serious I will upgrade. I live in a small town, but have access to larger cities if everyone says to "just go look at local pawn shops".