1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to the sport.

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Surveyor, Sep 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Surveyor

Surveyor TS Member

Hi, my name is Todd, my 10yr old son has recently become very interested in shooting at the wobble trap and a sporting clay range. He saved up and bought himself a Mossburg500 youth 20g. He has resparked my interest in shooting again, and it's great to have a sport we can do together. I have heard that he may be better off shooting a rem1100 12g with 3/4oz shot as far as recoil on his young tendons. I would like to get him a better gun at some point and would love to hear you guys' opinions and for me as well, as I have only bought guns for hunting. Currently I have a few 870wingmasters and a couple Rem1100 and and old winchester 1200. I have been looking at the O/U but am still suffering from sticker shock.
    What do we need for now?
    What should we be saving for in the future?

Thanks guys, I'm so new I don't even know what questions to ask, anything you think would be helpful is appreciated.

Many Thanks.
    Todd

2. recurvyarcher

recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

Welcome to ts.com and to trapshooting! I will leave the technical questions to the experts. My only advice is to have fun!

3. sliverbulletexpress

sliverbulletexpress TS Member

If you reload the 12 ga 1100 would be my choice. Find a short stock or cut one off and get him started off right. The Mossy is ok field gun but no trap gun.

4. Andy44

Andy44 Active Member