1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to sport, seeking advice...

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by electron_theory, Jun 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. electron_theory

electron_theory TS Member

Hey everyone, I started shooting clays a couple weeks ago, and after doing some
    research was thrilled to discover that there is competitive shotgunning. Competitive shooting runs in my family (mostly Highpower rifle), but even with a
    rifle background, this is a completely new world for me. I spent a couple of
    boxes of shells at the practice trap, and did well enough IMO to further pique
    my interest.

I'm not looking to spend a bunch of money on gear, I have my Mossberg that I
    like very well, it's a cannon, but it fits me, mounts well, etc... But with that
    said, I wanted to learn the correct techniques/target approach from you guys
    that would be so kind to share your expertise with me... The info on how to
    approach targets on the net is rather scant.

I'm pretty sure I'm doing it wrong, but right now I pretty much wait for the
    target out of the trap, find it on the way up, then let it fall on the muzzle
    just past the apex...

I appreciate all feedback in advance.

PS I considered about putting a carbine stock on my Mossy to feel a little more at home, but wasn't sure how that would be received :/

2. Rich219

Rich219 Active Member

Where are you from? See if someone at your local club can help you out.

I would google "Remington Trap Fundamentals", their publication has a lot of good information for a new shooter.

Don't put a carbine stock on your shotgun.

3. acss

acss Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

1st-- what do you mean by "clay" shooting--sporting clays, trap, skeet ect?

4. electron_theory