1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to shotshell reloading - Peters hulls 20 gauge

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Clintwb, Apr 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clintwb

Clintwb TS Member

I am fairly new to shot-shell reloading but inherited two MEC presses from my dad's garage which i have gotten cleaned up, replaced a few parts and are in good working order. I have quite a load of components as well that i would like to make use of if possible for shooting clays.
    <br><br>
    Here is a list of what i have:<br><br>
    Hulls<br>
    20g - Peters Target 2 3/4 (about 1000) <br>
    12g - Peters Blue 2 3/4 (about 500) <br>
    12g - Win AA red low brass 2 3/4 (about 250)<br>
    12g - Win AA red high brass 2 3/4 (about 250)<br>
    <br>
    Powders<br>
    1 lb of WIN 540<br>
    1 lb of WIN 473AA<br>
    1 lb of 20/28<br>
    <br>
    Primers<br>
    Nearly full box of (1000) WIN 209 Primers <br>
    <br>
    Wads<br>
    12g - WAA12 (250)<br>
    12g - WAA12r (250)<br>
    12g - WAA12blue (250)<br>
    20g - Rem SP20 (200)<br>
    20g - WAA20 (500)<br>
    <br>
    Shot<br>
    #4, #6, #8 Lead Shot (1) 25lb bag of each<br>
    <br><br>
    I am looking for some advice on loads for specifically the 20 Gauge hulls that i have. They seem to be in very good condition. It is hard to find data on the Peters hulls. I do have the Lyman 3rd edition... and am planning on picking up the most recent one as well. But have not been able to put together anything with all of these components. Seeing as my dad used to reload both 12g and 20g using these components... i can't find a recipe that matches everything!
    <br><br>
    Many thanks for any advice you may have.

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member