1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New to reloading questions?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mgfi26, Dec 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mgfi26

mgfi26 TS Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to relaoding and have a few questions. If anyone cares to give advice please do so and thank you. I recently decied to start reloading and picked up a mec 9000. I went to the gun club to purchase supplies and got everything I needed. I planned on buying hulls while I was there instead I was given several boxes of used hulls. The hulls were picked up off the range and some are dirty, wet etc. This is what I have the questions about.

1. - Do these need to be cleaned and how?
    2. - What types of hulls can and can't be reloaded?
    3. - I understand there are differeent size hulls. As far as the load / shot size do the hulls need to be reloaded to what is stamped on the side? I normally shoot 1oz. #8's
    4. - What to look for in a hull to be reloaded? ie. - damages, breaks etc.
    5. - How many times a hull can be reloaded? (everyone seems to have a
    different opinion on this matter)
    6. - What's everyones favorites and why?

I know this is a lot but thanks in advance to everone.

mgfi26
    matt

2. powderburn

powderburn Member

Hi there,
    OK. First:
    Anything with rust, hulls that have mud caked in them, hulls that are faded or have turned a weird color, have been stepped on and are flat, hit with a mower blade, toss 'em.