1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New shooter would apperciate your thoughts

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by johnx121, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnx121

johnx121 TS Member

I'm new to trap shooting and this forum. I have Been shooting for 2 months now and the only gun i have is a Bt99 34inch barrel. I have had some work done to it. Adjustable comb adjustable butt plate. Befor the work i shot any where from 17 to 21 a round. After the work i stay from 21 to 23.

I want to buy a cynergy classic combo. A friend has 1 for a good price $2500. Should that be my next step? Or is there a better gun in that price range? I do want to try sporting clays thats why i want the combo. Any advice would be greatly apperciated.

Thanks John

2. BrowningGal

BrowningGal TS Member

Cynergy combo is a good gun. I, personally, went with the XT (non-combo). I now shoot it for everything... even sporting clays and skeet. There are a lot of people that use a field or sporting gun gun for skeet and clays, but I do a lot better when I use my XT.

3. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

John:

IMO new shooters should focus on 16 yard singles and shoot light recoil loads. 1 oz loads of 8's atb 1180 fps are fine. Stay away from the promotional 1 oz. loads as these are loaded at 1290 fps and have noticably increased recoil.

That said, Rick's comments about gun fit are spot on.

You will probably get many comments but, since you are a new shooter, I suggest that you focus on more on technique than on scores.

If I could go back in time 40 years and get three pieces of advice they would be as follows.

1. Focus my eyes at infinity and keep my eyes on the target, never looking at the barrel.