1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New Shooter/Reloader

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ziff, Jan 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ziff

Ziff TS Member

Hello All, I'm new to TS.com and fairly new to trapshooting. I've been shooting at my local club here in MI for about 4-5 months using the cheap Federal promo shells in 7 1/2 and 8 from Wal-Mart. They have worked fine and was lucky enough the other day to run my first 50 straight. One of the members of the club needed to clear out some stuff and I bought his MEC 9000 from him.
    I had never reloaded shotgun shells before but have reloaded thousands of rounds for rifle and handgun. The reloader came with all his suppies also(2000 Rem STS hulls, Rem primers, 14 lbs of Clays, 4500 WAA12 wads and 5 bags of West Coast # 7 1/2 magnum shot). Well i've almost used that up and am looking for some advice. His load was STS hull, Rem primer, 18.7 grains of Clays, WAA12 wad and 1 1/8oz of shot. My question is 1. What is your opinion of this load and should I stay with it or not? and 2. I am going to shoot my fisrt ATA shoot in April and would like to shoot singles, handicap and doubles. What loads would you recommend for those also?
    I wouldn't bother you guys with this but I've been lurking on here for a little while and am impressed with the amount of knowledge you guys have.

Thanks in advance and hope I am welcome to join your group.
    Arnie

2. Ziff

Ziff TS Member

PS; I forgot to mention I have quite a few AA hulls in red and grey also.
    thanks
    Arnie

3. oz

oz Active Member

get a god reloading book first. that load is fine. oz

4. kraiza

kraiza Active Member