1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New shooter new gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by aeh3526, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aeh3526

aeh3526 TS Member

Hi all. I am new to trap shooting but enjoy the sport despite my poor results. I have chosen to purchase a dedicated trap gun as opposed to using my Charles daly 20 ga.semi auto. I want to order a sbk 85 unsing 34"/30" ou combo. What are your opinions of this gun and its ability to accomodate my present skill level and potential improvement. Thanks al

2. Mapper

Mapper Member

About any dedicated trap gun will exceed the skill levels of a beginning shooter.
    However, some guns are better than others. Buy one that fits you, it will probably not be your last gun. Shoot a lot. Ask questions.

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

It is important to buy a gun that fits you and shoots where you are looking. One way to get the right gun is to buy a used gun that you can get to shoot before you decide whether to buy it. It is also nice to get a gun that does not beat you up when you shoot it. So my advice is to shoot it before you buy it. HMB

4. Heckyea

Heckyea TS Member

That gun is a nice gun and should last a long time. Make sure it fits you. The one I shouldered did not but I'm short, thick necked, bald and beatiful!! :)
    Ron Zimmerman

5. 635 G

635 G Well-Known Member

All basic combo's are more than adequate. Look at any gun & check if you can get a PFS for it. This way you can get a guarantee of fit & comfort. If the gun doesn't fit it won't work.If it pounds you it won't work. There are lots of Beretta 682's out there.

Phil Berkowitz

6. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member