1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New Shooter Looking For Shotgun Selection Advice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by panther3423, Feb 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. panther3423

panther3423 TS Member

Hey all, I am just getting started with Trap shooting and so far have loved every minute of it. I have been borrowing a Benelli Nova 12 gauge to shoot with and am now thinking about purchasing my very own shotgun. I wanted to get some opinions or suggestions on what shotgun to look at and try out. Now keep in mind that I'm not thinking about Trap Shooting competitively or professionally, just love to go out there with friends to shoot and maybe join a league for fun. Additionally, I'm looking for something I can take into the field as well since I like to waterfowl. I would really like an O/U but am not opposed to a pump or gas operated. With that, I am looking forward to your suggestions and can start my researching =)!! As far as budget goes, I'm definitely looking to stay under $1000.

2. Eric Mirosavich

Eric Mirosavich Member

Beretta 391 Urika 2 12ga 30" Parallel Comb

Nice gun, you'll find one for <$G.

3. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Second the 391 suggestion. You will love the low recoil especially after you have been shooting the Nova. The 391 will take you as far in the game of trap as you want to go.

The Reminton M1100 is worth a look as well. Lots of those show up on this forum priced right and all set up for seriuos trap shooting.

4. Shady Creek

Shady Creek TS Member

Go with the 391....... GOOD LUCK

5. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member