1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New Shooter Classification?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by vpr80, Feb 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

So I don't get something. This is my first year shooting ATA hence the clean average card. At the last shoot, I had no targets registered so they classified me as "A" Singles and put me on 24 or something on Cap, even though my card said 20.

Since then I've shot my obligatory min of 500 registered targets and now have an 89% average in singles. Still no registered handicap targets.

So what happens when I go to the next shoot, how do they know that I am really "D" class and not "A" singles?<br>
    Since I have no handicap targets registered, can I shoot 20 or will I get a high yardage again?

Thanks

2. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member

It'll all depend on the programs wording. If there is no mention of "Penalty Class & Yardage", then you'll shoot from your ATA assigned yardage.

Different clubs/states will have vastly different target requirements for some of their tournaments, so read the program carefully.

Curt

3. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

Am I supposed to get something marked in my current year avg card for the registered targets? <br>
    How do they know what I've shot during the current year?

4. GoldTrigger

GoldTrigger Member

It is your responsibility to keep your ata average card up to date... As far as the Handicap yardage you will shoot from the 20 unless the shoot is a state level shoot or a satelite grand... and I agree read the program for any penalty yardage

5. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

This was a regional shoot so there was no program, at least not one that I am aware of.