1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New Shooter and New to trapshooters

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jgb, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jgb

jgb Member

I am new to shooting trap and I have a 686 white onyx sporting that I am trying to fit to shoot trap.Money is a concern and I want to get some opinions on whether I should put the money that I have to spend into this gun-Adjustable comb, and later add a bump buster adjustable pad or should I try to pick up a 682. I will also shoot some sporting clays with this gun. I also have a 391 sporting that I could set up for trap, but I think I prefer the O/U and I know I shoot the O/U better than the auto. I am very excited about getting a gun that fits me. Should I buy a trap barrel for the 686?

2. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

Your 686 will break trap targets just fine if you have screw in chokes. Presuming that you do put in a mod.-- improved mod. or a light full & shoot it until your sure of what you like (want--can afford), if need be add a layer or 2 of moleskin to the comb, this will help to keep the target visible above the bbl. when you pull the trigger, ie. make the gun shoot a little higher for rising targets. Meanwhile ask other shooters if you could try their gun & set-up for a few shots most will be happy to let you try & also tell you why they like what they have.

Main thing HAVE FUN & don't be afraid to ask questions we all started somewhere-- sometime & learned from others. Ross Puls

3. reddeath

reddeath TS Member