1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New guy

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Foxhat, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Foxhat

Foxhat TS Member

Hello everyone. I am new to trap shooting and wanted to run a few things by someone. I have a Stoeger Condor 12 ga. o/u. Being new to the game I went with a less exspensvise gun for now. Any comments on what I can expect as far as performance from this gun? I shoot right handed but am left eye dominate. What kind of problems can i expect with that?

2. pdq

pdq Member

Foxhat

Welcome.

First, best bet is to pattern your shotgun to see how the pelet dispersion is. And, hopefully, somewhere on the barrel or on the paperwork accompanying the gun it'll tell you the amount of choke.

Regardin left eye dominance, do a search of the archives. Tons on posts out there, as this is a frequent topic.

Pete

3. Mike Michalski

Mike Michalski Member

Foxhat, Just shoot. All the nuances and rules and preferences will come with experience. Trap is not a theoretical game but you must do it to learn it. Have fun. There are many more advice givers out there than you will ever need. Welcome aboard; have fun!

4. Fraz

Fraz TS Member

FoxHat welcome to the world of Trap, Your gun will do you just fine, I was shooting this morning with a young lad who also just bought a Condor and has been working very hard at his shooting, gun's working just fine and he's doing well. Pete is correct you should pattern the gun then you know just what's going on with your shot & bird. Just shoot it, if you get the desire some day & money's good or it won't work any more then change.
    Again Welcome
    Fraz

5. Barrelbulge(Fl)

Barrelbulge(Fl) TS Supporters TS Supporters