1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New AA vs STS Hulls

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by myevh3, Feb 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. myevh3

myevh3 TS Member

Which do you prefer? I have been reloading AAs for awhile. They seem to hold up pretty well. Any reason to switch to STS hulls?

2. threedeuces

threedeuces TS Member

I like to load STS cases because my loader is set up to do them. I have 2 garbage bags full of AA cases I would love to trade someone for some STS cases.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

myevh3- I have been loading AA exclusively since about 1965 and I have not found a reason to change. Today, the STS hulls are probably more popular but things change. I will not change because I have so many AA hulls. I also shoot a lot of new Winchester AA shells.

Pat Ireland

4. spitter

spitter Well-Known Member TS Supporters

Remington.

Loaded the Premier and the old AA with the same recipe. When Winchester went to the 2-piece and Remington stayed with one-piece technology in the STS/Nitro, I stayed with that... an "older" dog...

regards all,

Jay

5. Anchorsteam

Anchorsteam TS Member

Functionally, the AA & STS hulls can be loaded with the same recipes for either hull.

6. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Marlon, Who told you that? Not entirely true. Example, out of the Alliant reloading manual:

AA hull. Rem F-8 wad, Win primer, Max Red Dot 18.5 gr @ 10,700 psi

STS hull, Rem F-8 wad, Win primer, Max Red Dot 19.0 gr @10,400 psi

What pressure would you generate if you used 19.0 Red Dot in the Win AA hull?
    What if you were dropping 19.3 in lieu of 19.0, which is easy to do with Red Dot. It may not be enough pressure to create a dangerous load, but the cases are not functually the same.

7. Conn. Man