1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

New 4H shooting sports coach looking for help

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by linkerman, May 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. linkerman

linkerman Member

I am a new coach for our local 4H shooting sports club. I have been loking for trap and skeet material (books/dvd/video) that would be helpful for instructing the junior shooters that are 9-10 years old with no shooting experience. Any advice or tips on where to get good training information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and you guys have a really great forum!!

2. wheelchair shooter

wheelchair shooter TS Member

I am also a 4-H coach. I started my younger shooters shooting straight away shots right behind the trap and then gradually moved them back and then the introduced the other targets to them. This seemed to work very well. I did the same with the skeet targets, just starting them with singles first then moving to multiple targets.

Thad Bellow
    St.Amant, La.

3. Mismost

Mismost TS Member

I coach a 4H team. First thing is the safety test...100% or they don't shoot. Second thing is the safety test...100% or they don't shoot. Take a WAG what the third thing is going to be....that's right, the safety test! Grind it in...if they quit coming, those are the ones you really don't need.