Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Neil, another way to control sandbagging

4K views 78 replies 25 participants last post by  lumper 
#1 ·
Neil, another way to control (probably not stop) sandbagging at least in singles and doubles is like the rules that was used in IMHSA pistol siloutte shooting. I felt like a lot of the people do now when I started shooting. As I was working my way up and in class B or C and shot a really good score for that class and didn't even come close to winning. Very discouraging especially when you see those same people shoot a very low score for the next few months and then back at a big shoot run another 99 or 100. I have three friends about to quit now because of that particular reason. They can get in the upper levels of their class but not close to the upper 90's
Here it is: If you have say 5 classes that day (D,C,B,A,AA) and are a C shooter and you run them and shoot a AA score. You move up to the class below where you shot that day. So that day you move to A class. Another part of that is that you have to shoot at least two classes above where you are. I believe if you are a C shooter and you shoot B scores twice you move up to B. Anyone interested in all of the details should go to the IMSHA site and read the rules unless they have changed them. I know for the people I know that are starting out, it would make them feel like the system is a little more fair. But from reading other posts on here I doubt that it would fly in ATA. It seemed to work in IMSHA and I never heard anyone gripe about sandbagging there. Just another thought.

See less See more
#3 ·
John, there is just as much sandbagging in singles as handicap if not more. I have never been to a big shoot that it didn't take a 98 or higher to win a class in C,D or higher.