Trapshooters Forum banner

Negative pitch problem with my new gun?

6K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  Rollin Oswald 
#1 ·
Hi everybody. I have been shooting my beretta dt-10 for about 3 years and just got a k-80. After a few hundred rounds something felt wrong. I realized that a k-80 doesn't have the same negative pitch that my beretta. I had a new pad with negative pitch put in it. After shooting it yesterday I was very comfortable the way the gun fits me but it was shooting too much to the left. I had to move comb 2.5 to 3 notches to the right to compensate for shooting to the left. How does adding a negative pitch pad change my POI so much that I had to compensate for it by creating cast on with the comb. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you. Greg.

#2 ·
More likely the change wasn't in the cast, it was in the way the gun was canted. When you change the way a gun sits in your pocket, it may cause the
gun to rotate one way or another - what we call "canting." It looks like the gun needs cast in or cast off, but it doesn't. You will see many shooters
with the pad rotated on the gunstock, to eliminate a canting problem. You may need to do the same thing, but the problem can't be solved by moving the comb like you've done.

#4 ·
When a gun is canted (rotated) even slightly, the bead alignment can change, and it looks like the gun is pointed left or right. It wouldn't happen overnight, it would happen instantly. As soon as you changed the pitch the
butt pad fit your shoulder differently. You said it yourself, "it was
very comfortable." I suggest that you leave it the way it is with the adjustment to the comb. I just wanted to explain why it happened.

#10 ·
Greg,

I'm not convinced that you know what pitch is. Pitch is the angle formed by the recoil pad and the rib - close to 90 degrees.