1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

need opinion

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by max nimrick, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. max nimrick

max nimrick TS Member

im a high school student and i shoot on a trap team through the school. they dont know if i can compete because i shoot in ata shoots and won money. my question is can i loose my amature shooting status an the ata. i was wondering because ithe first word in ata is amature. would please like comments

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

It is a good question and the answer is no problem. You haven't effected your standing in the ATA by winning a bit of money in shooting events. If that were the case, just about none of us would be able to compete in ATA events.

The actual lines between amature and professional are pretty blurred.

3. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

The name is "Amateur Trapshooting Association" ... so what is the question?

Where do they see the word professional?

4. ntgr8

ntgr8 Member

If the question is ,Can I shoot for my HS team if I shoot in the ATA the answer is yes. If the question is can I shoot ATA if I shoot on a HS team the answer is yes. So have fun and shoot lots of targets.

5. max nimrick

max nimrick TS Member

thanks guys

6. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member

If you send your winnings to Kitty care of Tron or to Barrel Bulge you amature status. You have no issue because you lost a bit of money as far as the ATA goes but what about the high school standing , is it a state sacntioned sport?

7. max nimrick

max nimrick TS Member

i think it is sacntioned by yhe school and dnr but there is state shoots at hs level

8. phirel

phirel TS Member