1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

NEED HELP!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Jon Wills, Feb 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jon Wills

Jon Wills TS Member

Feb 5, 2009
    I am new to trap and I just joined ata. I have hunting shotguns but I am looking for a trap gun. I want a gun to shoot trap and the occasional dove. Is 28" barrel too short. I know I want a over under. Any help on barrel length or a good gun that isn't 10k as I am new to this
  2. dave-320c

dave-320c Active Member

Jul 26, 2007
    buy a beretta 390 auto (or a 391) with a 28 or 30" barrel.
    I shoot these as well as a Krieghoff.
    Best of luck.
  3. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Jan 29, 1998
    Economy: An autoloader will permit you to shoot or at least try any clay target game out there. A relatively inexpensive single barrel, single shot will only permit shooting singles and handicap. Trust me, you well eventually want to take a swipe at one or more of the "other games" and will need something that holds at least two shells.

Step up: The over/under. Inexpensive but sound O/Us will take you to used Brownings, Remingtons, or Berettas at least around $1000. Otherwise the top price is the limit in O/Us.

Money no consideration: The typical mantra would have you looking for a combination set; a single barrel and and over/under with just one receiver and butt stock and barrels are exchanged depending on the game being shot. However one single barrel and another O/U is just as popular in the real world - two guns.

Hunting/trap: This is always a sort of conundrum. If it does one venue well it rarely works as well at the other. So buy what will satisfy you most of the time and either understand the other will suffer or, again, have two guns.