1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help with ammo

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Questor, Dec 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Questor

Questor TS Member

I'm new to trap shooting and need some help with ammo issues. I'm a long-time cartridge reloader and am naturally inclined to reload. I don't see the payback now for loading trap loads because of the price of lead.

I still like the idea of loading because I still see the opportunity to make premium ammo for the price of the cheap promotional ammo.

I would like to know what you think about the promotional vs. handload issue for shooting 16 yard trap principally, and with some double trap.

If I were to reload, I'd be using a progressive press. And I don't mind spending an hour now and then to load up a couple of hundred rounds.

Aside from time spent, and the cost of the press, is there a down side to making my own? Is the promotional ammo so good that I can just forget reloading and enjoy the bonanza of good ammo without having to reload?

Thanks for the insight. I appreciate it.

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

If your main objective is to shoot the least expensive shells then just buy the promo stuff. Handloads with premium components will cost you more at today's rates. The promo shells will break targets just fine or at least they will perform as well as most shooters.

On the other hand, this is a pretty good time to pick up used loading equipment for next to nothing. It is hard to imagine that the current trend of components costing more than factory shells will continue forever. Also as you pointed out, rolling your own gives you the opportunity to make very good ammo that can be tailored to your own specifications.

3. Questor

Questor TS Member