1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

need help reloading

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ringer, Jan 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ringer

ringer TS Member

Jan 11, 2009
    I want to get started reloading for hunting. I have never done it before and I am primarily interested in experimenting with heavy lead loads. All the recipes I find online seem kind of whimpy. I would love to be able to load some 1 1/2 to 1 3/4oz lead loads and get them to 1400fps or more. Whats the trick? If you can push steel at 1500fps or more why cant I do the same with lead of the same weight? Keep in mind I have never reloaded so I may sound ignorant. Thanks for any help or recipes.

Christian Wahl ( Augusta, Ga)
  2. Remstar311

Remstar311 Member

Sep 15, 2008
    Fred may be a little busy, but steel does not have the same cross sectional density as lead. Basically, a one inch ball of steel will not weigh nearly as much as the same one inch ball of lead. It takes more energy to get that lead moving at the same speed as steel, but lead retains that energy for longer periods of time, ie. more knock down power at longer ranges. Steel runs out of steam and speed in a hurry, muzzle volacity is impressive, but thats it. That is why it is so damn hard to bring those ducks/geese down at a distance with steel, and why those who can afford to use tungsten use it. As far as load data goes, just get a shotshell reloading book online or at a local shop, bass pro etc.

3. Recoil Sissy

Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

Jan 29, 1998

I didn't check data for 3" hulls but Alliantpowder.com and Hodgdon.com both have 1.5 oz. lead loads for 2.75" shells at velocities of 1200 to 1300 fps.