1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

NEED HELP REFINISHING A STOCK!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by senior smoke, May 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i picked up a rem 870 tb stock with beautiful wood. the previous owner said for some reason the finish started to buble and he used a pin and the finish just lifted off the stock very easy. this is an old 870 tb stock from the early 70's. with all the finish off the gun, i would like to refinish it now. does anyone know of any product that i can hand rub into the stock that will give a glossy finish, something like what remington uses on their trap stocks?
    thanks,
    steve balistreri

2. capvan

capvan Active Member

Well, I am no expert and have only refinished a few stocks, but I use boiled linseed oil. I keep rubbing it in until the wood won't absorb any more and put more on every year or so. It just keeps getting better and it's very tolerant of minor bumps and bruises. But...it's not glossy. Far from it. But it sure smells good!

Bruce
    KB1IIX@arrl.net

3. AlanM

AlanM Member

Smoke

I used a product called Hi-speed Linseed Oil Gun Stock Finish, by G96. This was used on an old Remington 22 that I had to scrape the old junk off. The stock came out with a nice glossy shine and hard. Takes several coats, but worth the results. This was the first and only stock I did, and after many years it still is holding up.

Alan

4. senior smoke

sounds good so far. i wish their was a product that you could just put on and presto, it glossy and shines like the original finish, but i am sure it will take some time to do it right.
    thanks,
    steve

5. rebelace

rebelace TS Member