1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help choosing a gun!!!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by joemclark, Oct 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joemclark

joemclark TS Member

I need some help. I am new to trap shooting my 13 yr old just joined the trap shooting team at school. So he is wanting a new gun for duck season and now needs a new gun for trap shooting. Is there a gun that he can do both with successfully. I have pretty much moved away from a single barrel just because it seems one dimensional (no pun intended). I thought the Remington 1100 Competion with the adjustable comb and stock would be a good gun. Can he also shoot that gun in the duck blind. I mean I know he can but is that a wise choice? Do I just need to breakdown and buy a gun for duck hunting and another for Trap.

Thanks!! Looking forward to your advice!!!

2. YOTESLAYER

YOTESLAYER Member

If you can afford it, two guns would be much better. If you cant he can find sucess with one gun. How much does he complain about taking out the trash??? HAHA good luck!!

3. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

I think the Comp is for target type ammo only, not field & duck loads. Ross Puls

4. Aulovel5

Aulovel5 TS Member

Buy one for both, so many kids go the field gun option then end up switching guns right when they get use to it because their not made to be shot as much . I might recommend a bt99

5. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member

Get an 1100-1187 with screw chokes in a Trap model. 2 3/4 Hevishot will kill any Duck at any reasonable shooting distance. Jeff

6. spitter

spitter Well-Known Member TS Supporters