1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help about a BT-99

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by major146, Dec 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. major146

major146 Member

Need help about a BT-99???????????????????

I need a little advice on the Browning BT-99. I am new to trap (3 months) but have been shooting skeet for many years and usually shoot in the low 20’s. I am interested in getting a BT-99. I presently have a Remington 11-87 with a 29 ½ inch barrel using a modified choke. I have not been doing very well with it. A very friendly man I met at the range gave me a chance to try out his BT-99 with an adjustable comb and I doubled my usual score. So I think that this may help me do better at Trap. All I could find around here is one with a 34 inch barrel. Is this barrel too long for 16 yards? Also is the choke on these guns fixed or can you screw in different ones? I wish I could find the guy that let me try out this gun but I had never met him before and I don’t know when or if I will see him again.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Terry

2. Trap2

Trap2 Well-Known Member

Terry..... The BT99 with 34" barrels is the one that is most desired by trapshooters. It will work very well from anywhere on the pad if it is choked properly. Some BT's come with choke tubes, and some are fixed choke. Either way, the BT99 is a true trap gun and will serve you well for both singles and handicap...... Just my opinion....Dan Thome (Trap2)

3. SONO MAN

SONO MAN TS Member