1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

need advice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Dust, Jun 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dust

Dust TS Member

My 13 year old son would like to start shooting trap,,, I would like him to start with a over/under,,, any suggestions? buy older perazzi? older krieghof,,? help....

2. Remstar311

Remstar311 Member

If you have the money, knock yourself out. I'd start him with a bt 99 or rem 1100.

Nick

3. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Dang wish you were my dad when i started shooting. LOL

If you want a good starter O/U and not break the bank, try to find a used Browning or a Beretta. The Browning BT 99's and BT 100's are also great Trap guns but are single barrels only.

4. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Start him off with a gun he can handle and also something you won't mind modifying as the need arises. The BT99 is a top pick - excellent quality and durability. If/when your son gets into shooting doubles, look at the Browning XT or Beretta 682. Spend the money you saved over buying a P or K gun on ammo, targets and professional coaching.

If all goes well and your son is still into the game make the upgrade to a higher buck shotgun as a high school graduation present. By that time both you and he will have a better idea of what you want to spend your money on.

5. Trap4

Trap4 Member

For the price, I would go with a Browning XT Combo, would not go wrong ,

Trap-4

6. perazzi97

perazzi97 TS Member

I am thirteen and have an mx10 combo yeah I didn't pay for it. My grandpa did and it is a great gun and built Ike a tank , shoots great too

7. perazzi97

perazzi97 TS Member

5"4 110 pounds thirteen yrs old

8. perazzi97

perazzi97 TS Member