1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

NEED ADVICE ON PURCHASING A RELEASE TRIGGER!

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, Jul 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i have been shooting trap since 1970. when i first started shooting i would see some of the veteran shooters using release triggers. i would sometimes wonder how a person could not pull a trigger? i am now 57 years old and i recently started to flinch big time. a very good friend of mine will allow me to try his release trigger in my rem 870 this weekend. if i feel that the release will help me, i will purchase one for my gun. i use a 4 lb pull trigger in my 870. what should i look for when i purchase a release trigger? i want a release that is easy to set. i have heard stories that releases are dangerous, they break down alot etc, etc. what is a good company to purchase a release from? are all releases basically made the same from manufacturer to manufacturer? years ago a local gun club owner wrote in his quarterly newspaper that he sent to his members " if you need a release to shoot, maybe it's time you get out of the game". i hope that is not my case. this past weekend i shot our club championship. in the 16 yard, i had 38 out of 50, with 10 flinches that caused me to miss 10 targets. in the handicap, i shot a 37, missing 9 targets due to flinches. i flinched so hard on one hard left from staion 1, that i actually hurt my shoulder. when i flinch sometimes i can't pull the trigger until the target is way out, or my swing is so terrible because my forearm is jerking the gun down. any help would be appreciated.
    steve balistreri

2. John Thompson

John Thompson TS Member