1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Need advice on Beretta 686

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Mr. D, Sep 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr. D

Mr. D Member

Hi everyone

I’m new to the sport of trapshooting and would like some advice on my current gun. I picked up a used Beretta S686 Essential with 28” barrel that is in very good condition with little use and I really like the feel and weight of this gun. Several old timers that I have talked to say I need to get the gun fitted to me if I want to improve my score and continue to grow into this sport which I enjoy and plan on sticking with. I’m currently shooting consistently in the 17-20 range with more 18’s than 20’s.

Looking on the net I’m seeing prices in the $260 range to have a 4-way adjustable comb added to my stock, $250 for an adjustable LOP plate w/ kick Eez pad and about $60 or so to have my forearm refinished to match the re-worked stock.

So were talking upwards of $500 - $600 for stock rework plus $750 gun cost = $1,350

IF I wanted to add a 30” unsingle barrel that would add $????. Can I even buy this barrel?

Like I said above I really like the gun, should I put the additional money in it or use it as is?

2. BigJohn270

BigJohn270 Member

I will jump in even though I am no expert.
    I would not spend all the money to cut and change the stock until I had a true fitting done by someone who know what they are doing. THEN let them tell you what adjustments need to be made.

As far as the barrels go, I can't help you as I am looking for a 34" unsingle for my Beretta 682 myself....

good luck

3. KENENT1

KENENT1 Active Member

a 34" unsingle barrel with adjustable rib will run $1600 new, you will be lucky if you can find a used one for $1300 to $1400.